Learn how Aspen University is responding to COVID-19.

Celebrating Nurses Week With a Series of Live Virtual Events

Join our faculty for 'A Salute to Nurses': honoring nurses everywhere, sharing valuable experiences, and unpacking the profession through a series of live virtual events.

National Nurses Week featuring photos of aspen students

Every May, we honor the selfless contributions of all nurses during National Nurses Week, and this year is especially significant in recognizing their hard work and leadership. Here at Aspen, we’re grateful for all the devoted and compassionate nurses that make up our faculty, student body, alumni, and community. 

From working on the frontlines to ensure the best patient care to leading vaccination efforts and educating the masses on public health, nurses continue to be a vital force in healthcare and battling COVID-19. The need for nurses was increasing even before the pandemic, with the nursing industry predicted to have the fastest growth than any other industry. 

In celebration of National Nurses Week, which takes place from May 6 to May 12, Aspen University invites you to join our virtual event series A Salute to Nurses, hosted by our faculty. 

The five-day series will kick off on May 6 with a message from our Dean, Dr. Nina Beaman. Each day will be dedicated to a particular theme and feature a one-hour Zoom video and open forum highlighting an exciting presentation. The events are open to the public, and attendees will have the opportunity to share their personal stories and experience. Times will alternate throughout the week to meet everyone’s convenience. 

We welcome you to join our festivities! Here are the details for joining this engaging series:

Day 1: Thursday, May 6, 2021 

Salute to Florence Nightingale 

Dean Dr. Nina Beaman delivers a welcoming message, as attendees share their stories of what motivated them to become a nurse and involved in the healthcare field.

Time: 4:00 p.m. PST/5:00 p.m. MT/6:00 p.m. CST/7:00 p.m. EST

Click here for the Zoom link

Add event to calendar

Apple  •  Google  •  Office 365  •  Outlook Web  •  Outlook  •  Yahoo

 

Day 2: Friday, May 7, 2021

Infection Control Throughout History

Presented by Dr. Andrea Novak, attendees will hear stories about experiences with infection control procedures throughout nursing careers. 

Time: 9:00 a.m. PST/10:00 a.m. MT/11:00 a.m. CST/12 p.m. EST

Click here for the Zoom link

Add event to calendar

Apple  •  Google  •  Office 365  •  Outlook Web  •  Outlook  •  Yahoo

 

Day 3: Monday, May 10, 2021

Nursing Apparel Throughout History

Dr. Lorraine Hover looks back on the evolution of nursing apparel throughout history, as attendees are welcome to discuss and share nostalgic pictures from their careers.

Time: 9:00 a.m. PST/10:00 a.m. MT/11:00 a.m. CST/12 p.m. EST

Click here for the Zoom link

Add event to calendar

Apple  •  Google  •  Office 365  •  Outlook Web  •  Outlook  •  Yahoo

 

Day 4: Tuesday, May 11, 2021

Companion Animals Throughout History

Join Dr. Linda Marcuccilli in her presentation on the lovable history of companion animals. Share your personal stories and adorable photos of your furry companions. 

Time: 9:00 a.m. PST/10:00 a.m. MT/11:00 a.m. CST/12 p.m. EST

Click here for the Zoom link

Add event to calendar

Apple  •  Google  •  Office 365  •  Outlook Web  •  Outlook  •  Yahoo

 

Day 5: Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Leadership Throughout History

Learn about career leadership and mentorship with Dr. Teresa Olin as attendees share their own experiences, featuring a closing message from Dr. Linda Marcuccilli.

Time: 4:00 p.m. PST/5:00 p.m. MT/6:00 p.m. CST/7:00 p.m. EST

Click here for the Zoom link.

Add event to calendar

Apple  •  Google  •  Office 365  •  Outlook Web  •  Outlook  •  Yahoo

 

Thank you to all nurses for your tireless and heartfelt work! We salute you. 


Chat